Blog Kick-Off: Ecuadorian Potato and Cheese Patties

alethea_loeffler92

It is no secret that I love to cook for my family, and friends. My love of cooking was obviously born out of my love of eating. I mean, how else can you get excited about cooking unless you’re equally excited about getting to eat said cooked food? All things food…whether going out to for brunch, unfolding a white napkin at a fancy restaurant, or sniffing a mango for ripeness, are always a new opportunity to have a culinary good time.

People tend to ask me what my “specialty” is, and honestly, I don’t have one. I love to make so many varied types of foods, that I can’t seem to settle on any one thing. But I do still rattle off a few things I cook a lot, or have perfected, just to keep the conversation going: “Oh, I make a good lasagna, awesome Mexican rice, really good banana bread…” Here’s where this blog comes in. I need somewhere to chronicle the dishes I make, and share recipes with those who always ask.

To get this food blogging party started, I’m going with a new favorite: Ecuadorian Potato and Cheese Patties, served with a tomato and red onion relish. When I first started cooking, any recipe I made came from the Cooking Light magazine subscription I had. Since then, I have purchased many of their cookbooks. This recipe is featured in their All-New Complete Cooking Light cookbook, and also in their Global Kitchen cookbook.

These potato patties are delicious! They have a caramelized and crisp outside and a gooey, cheesy center, served with a relish of ripe tomato and red onion. I may add avocado to the relish next time, because I am crazy like that, but it really is amazing as written. And let’s face it, could YOU resist a potato patty with cheese? Me either!!

Ecuadorian Potato and Cheese Patties

Adapted from: Cooking Light Global Kitchen by David Joachim

1 ¾ teaspoons kosher salt, divided

2 medium baking potatoes (about 1 1⁄4 pounds), peeled and quartered

1 1⁄2 ounces shredded Monterey Jack cheese (about 6 tablespoons)

2 tablespoons minced green onions

1⁄4 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper

1 tablespoon olive oil

3⁄4 cup diced tomato

1⁄2 cup diced or julienned red onion

Place 1 ½ teaspoons salt and potatoes in a saucepan, and cover with water. Bring to a boil; reduce heat, and simmer 15 minutes or until tender. Drain, and mash with a potato masher until smooth. Cool.

Add cheese, green onions, remaining 1⁄4 teaspoon salt, and pepper to potato mixture, stirring well. Divide potato mixture into 6 balls (about 1⁄2 cup per ball). Flatten balls into 1⁄2-inch-thick patties (about 3-inch diameter). Place on a baking sheet; cover and refrigerate 20 minutes or until firm.

Heat large nonstick skillet over medium heat. Add oil to pan; swirl to coat. Place patties in pan; cook 5 minutes or until bottoms are browned. Turn patties; cook 3 minutes.Top patties with tomato and red onion.

Per Cooking Light this makes 6 servings (serving size: 1 patty, 2 tablespoons tomato, and 4 teaspoons red onion). I, however only got 4 patties out of my mix.

Leave a Reply

